Mixed Berry Muffins

For our cake club at work last Friday I made the Mixed Berry Muffins using the Hummingbird Bakery Cake Days app. The app has 60 recipes divided into seasonal sections and costs £2.99. This recipe was given an easy rating and it was quick to do. Even if my phone got a little messy!

20110808-152023.jpg

The muffins rose beautifully and the sponge was light. The recipe uses melted butter which I think makes a difference. The fruit, raspberries and blueberries, are great for summer and make the muffins really colourful. The raspberries also stop the muffins being too sweet.

20110808-151842.jpg

Overall I enjoying using a recipe app. I love that if you clap you go to the next step but found I had to go back to get the ingredient quantities a few times loosing my space. The shopping list feature is pretty useful but you can’t select just the ingredients you need you have them all in the list. The steps were clear and succinct but I couldn’t find hope long I was to bake them for so just did 25 mins. More importantly everyone liked them at work with their afternoon cuppa!

Comments
One Response to “Mixed Berry Muffins”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Fellow baking blogger Boom Bakery recently tipped me off about the Hummingbird Bakery Cake Days app for iPhone. I had been on the look out for a decent cake app for a while so I was excited to give the app a try! The photography and layout of each recipe is great and I love being able to access the recipes even when I’m offline on a train. I think the split of recipes by summer, spring, mother’s and father’s day is a bit arbitrary though. Recipes I’m keen to try are the blueberry crumble loaf, summer fruit cheesecake, and summer berry muffins (you can read the recipe review on Boom Bakery’s blog). […]



Leave a comment