Apple and Cinnamon Loaf Cake

His and Hers Apple & Cinnamon Cake

Winter is coming! So a nice warm apple and cinnamon loaf was in order while the rain poured down earlier.

I adapted this recipe from a Mary Berry loaf cake recipe which uses carrot and orange zest. It makes a loaf about 900g (2lb loaf tin) and took about 45mins to bake at 180oC/gas mark 4. It might take a bit longer (up to an hour) as my oven was fan assisted.

You just mix the ingredients together in a large bowl or mixer and add the 1tbsp milk if the mixture looks a bit dry. Mix the sultanas in at the end if you decide to go with them just because I find they get stuck in the mixer. Then pop it into the loaf tin and into the oven, I had a little extra so it went into the boy and girl moulds.

If you wanted to add a topping I imagine a crumble topping would be nice and I might try that next time. If you want to do it I generally use 100g demerara sugar, 100g butter and 150g plain flour rubbed together.

I hope you like it and if you try it out I’d love to hear how it goes!

Ingredients:

150g butter
150g light muscovado sugar
200g self raising flour
1 tsp baking powder
2 large eggs
1 tbsp milk
1/2 tsp cinnamon
175-200g grated cooking apple (roughly 2 apples)
75 g sultanas (optional- I don’t like them but the other half said they were a nice addition)

His and Hers Apple & Cinnamon Cake

Leave a comment